Manhattan Beach Unified School District

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu Toggle

Classification Study

MBUSD Classified Employees 

 

Welcome to the Classification Study page. 

 

The MBUSD and CSEA are participating in a classification study of all classified positions. This study will provide recommendations for updates to job descriptions, promotional pathways, and a comparison of similar jobs in our schools with other school districts like ours. This classification and compensation study conducted by the Ewing firm will utilize questionnaires, focus groups, and interviews of employees and managers to determine recommendations on revised job descriptions and suggested allocation of employees for all MBUSD classified positions.  Additionally, the consultant will perform a salary survey of comparable school districts and provide recommendations for appropriate compensation for all classes.  Lastly, this study will ensure that all class descriptions comply with the Americans with Disabilities Act.

  

Classified employees, your participation in this study is essential!  Please review some quick steps below:

 

1. Please complete and submit a job questionnaire to your supervisor by March 10, 2017.  You can find an electronic copy of the questionnaire here, or your office manager has some extra copies.  To find out more about the study and completing the questionnaire, please refer to the employee cover letter or watch this orientation video.

 

2. If you’re interested in participating in an interview discussion with the classification consultant, please be sure to indicate your interest in the first question of the questionnaire. Interviews will take place on April 19th-21st. Invitation letters have been distributed if you have not received one. Please call extension 5951 to confirm you are schedule for an interview. 

 

Once the consultant has completed the review of positions, revised job descriptions will be sent to classified employees for additional feedback and comments.

 

3. If you have any questions or concerns, you can reach out to members of the Classification Study Advisory Committee.  They are: Lena Agee, Richard Gaines, Chelsea Hillbrand, Rod Jorgensen, Brian Lucas, Paul Ruta, Sara Williams, and Alice Wise.

 

Agee, Lena

Director of Food and Nutrition

LAgee@mbusd.org

Gaines, Richard

CSEA President

RGaines@mbusd.org

Hillbrand, Chelsea

IBI/CSEA MBMS Site Coordinator

CHillbrand@mbusd.org

Jorgensen, Rod

Building Trades Specialist/CSEA

Rjorgensen@mbusd.org

Lucas, Brian

Assistant Superintendent, Human Resources

Blucas@mbusd.org

Ruta, Paul

Director of Maintenance and Operations

PRuta@mbusd.org

Williams, Sara

CSEA Vice President

SWilliams@mbusd.org

Wise, Alice

CSEA Treasure

AWise@mbusd.org

 

 This page will be updated as more information is available. Please visit again.