Manhattan Beach Unified School District

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu Toggle

MBUSD Plans Home

LCAP Documents
2021-22 will be the eighth year of a new funding formula for California: The Local Control Funding Formula (LCFF). Many categorical programs that targeted certain segments of students have been eliminated. In an effort to make certain that school districts work and have the resources to address the needs of ALL students, The Local Control Accountability Plan (LCAP) is a critical part of LCFF. Districts must use the LCAP to create a plan that details how they will support student success. It must detail the goals, the plans, and the dollars that will be devoted to helping all students succeed.
The LCAP parallels our district goals, and site goals should be aligned with the LCAP, the Common Core State Standards, the Next Generation Science Standards, and the California English Language Development Standards.
The Board of Trustees has been focused for many years on improving student achievement, and our administrators, faculty and staff have worked hard to constantly improve. The LCAP should reflect the work that has occurred already, and outline our plans for the future as we continue to strive to be a district where all students are successful.
The 2021-22 MBUSD Budget and LCAP were approved by the Board of Trustees on June 23, 2021.
Development of this plan requires that we closely examine student achievement data, that we involve stakeholders in the development of this plan, and that we develop goals and progress indicators that reflect the student achievement data and input from key stakeholders.  The LCAP process has been discussed with the Board of Trustees, English Learner (EL) Parents, PTAs, representatives from our two employee bargaining groups, and in communications to all stakeholders. 
2021-2022 LCAP Meeting Dates:
Day Date Time
Thursday October 28, 2021 3:30 - 4:30 pm
Thursday January 6, 2022 3:00 - 4:30 pm
Thursday March 24, 2022 3:00 - 4:30 pm
Thursday May 12, 2022 3:00 - 4:30 pm
LCAP Committee Members
Name Role/Title
Dr. John Bowes Superintendent
Dr. Irene Gonzalez-Castillo Assistant Superintendent
Cathey Graves Board Member
Jen Fenton Board Member
Dr. Karina Gerger Principal
Rose Ahrens Principal
Sheryl Sarabia Director of Fiscal Services
Christine Jewett TOSA
Shawn Chen Teacher / MBUTA Representative
Susana Anton EDP Staff / CSEA Representative
Carrie Westch Parent Representative
Susanna Bolander Oscarson Parent Representative